food, review

[Product Review] Yoplait’s Perle de Lait Classic Dairy Dessert

12th February 2010

FATGIRLslim | Perle de Lait Dairy Dessert [Product Review]
Yoplait’s new “dairy dessert”, Perle de Lait

Product Review:

Yoplait’s Perle de Lait Classic “dairy dessert”.

If you’ve seen the advert on the TV lately, you’ll maybe remember the girl with the french accent eating the “sour” plain yoghurt, looking wretched and making a face with every spoonful. Then, she switches to Perle de Lait, gets a beauty makeover, and happily eats her plain yoghurt, smiling!

Originally, I wanted the coconut flavour, but since they’re on special offer at ASDA (and probably everywhere else right now) they’re like hot-cakes. When I got to the supermarket, all that was left was the “Classic” flavour,

Now, I must admit, I actually enjoy sour yoghurt. I eat Fage 0% with a little bit of honey, and savour the tang when I get through the sweetness of the honey to the yoghurt below.

So the first thing that I noticed when I licked the lid (who doesn’t lick the lid?!) was that there wasn’t much tang.

Unfortunately, at first, there wasn’t much in the way of taste, either. It’s like somebody’s taken plain yoghurt and removed all the flavour.

And it didn’t get much better, either. Halfway through the pot, and I realised that yes, there’s not much in the way of taste. It’s very… nondescript. You get a weird hint of creamy, but not in the way that you get from real cream.

I’d say, overall, that the yoghurt isn’t meant to be eaten on its own. Dollop it over some strawberries and you’d have a great time with it, I think. But not on its own.

… that said, it’s not like I didn’t finish the whole 125g pot. It’s nice enough, at least, to finish eating it.

A definitely disappointing ★★☆☆☆

Maybe the Lemon or Coconut flavours are better.

(Also: why “dairy dessert”? Why is this not a real yoghurt? Does anybody know?)

Pot size: 125g
Nutritional Information per 100g: 122 calories; 3.1g protein; 5.1g carbs (of which sugars: 4.1g); fat: 9.9g (of which saturates: 6.6g); fibre: 0g; sodium: 0.05g.

 
 

Disclaimer

I have received no monetary or complementary compensation for this review. This product was bought for my own consumption from my own funds.

If you would like me to review your product, please contact me fatso@fatgirlslim.org, although requesting a review does not guarantee acceptance.

You Might Also Like

  • Product Review: Yoplait’s Perle de Lait Lemon Dairy Dessert « FATGIRLslim 24th February 2010 at 8:32 pm

    […] y’all might remember that I tried the Perle de Lait “Classic” dairy dessert not too long ago and described it as “yogurt with all the flavour […]

  • sandra 6th March 2010 at 9:03 pm

    just tried the cocnut flfavour AMAZING!!!

    • Fatso 6th March 2010 at 9:05 pm

      Yeah, I got the coconut flavour this week, finally! And yes, it's definitely the best of the bunch!

  • Patricia 16th May 2010 at 4:20 pm

    The coconut is AMAZING……I`m eating one right now,it is to die for. I don`t really like yoghurts,but this one is SO NICE!!!

  • candy 18th May 2010 at 10:38 am

    These yogurts have been around for awhile in lots of dif variety n flavours in other parts of europe and have been along time fav of mine. so u could imagine my joy wen these pots of heven poped up on my tv…so of course i went straight to the nearest supa market in search of them. they are smooth creamy amd the most gorg outa all the yogurts. who wants fat free sin free yogurts that taste sour and every mouthful is punishment? give my these anytime and im a happy lady!

  • graham robinson 26th May 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Can't agree more. I bought the Coconut variety at 50p a pop was far from impressed.Thought you wer generous @ 2/5 ………1/5 would be generous

  • Helen M 22nd July 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I'm just eating the original one and think it tastes rather like sour cream. Might just beme though. Unfortunately couldn't get any other flavour in my local tesco and have been hunting these out to give them a go. Bit scarce where I live! Must try and search harder for other flavours.

  • Larita Czach 28th July 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Good post dude Thank you

  • wendy 30th July 2010 at 5:28 pm

    I have been looking in all the supermarkets in my area for ages and still can not find them any where

  • Judy 26th August 2010 at 4:50 pm

    the coconut ones are to die for, I used to pour one over my afternoon snack of fruit, unfortunately I've joined weight watchers and they are 4 points per pot so now I have to have one as a treat every now and then….I'm totally gutted………:-((((((

    • Fatso 26th August 2010 at 5:00 pm

      I fully agree: the coconut ones are DELICIOUS. But they are very high in POINTs, aren't they? A nice treat every once in a while, if you can get someone else to eat the rest of the four-pack, of course! If they start making a fat-free or low-fat version, I might think about buying them on a weekly basis again.

  • nancy thomas 21st October 2010 at 5:00 pm

    haven't tried the coconut, but I think the lemon is fabulous!

    • diane blockj 20th January 2013 at 10:09 pm

      Are you all joking – exotic coconut – there are several in the market at Asda, but Perle de Lait does not taste anything like coconut, it is tasteless 5.% I wish.

      • Fatso 20th January 2013 at 10:16 pm

        You really think so? I honestly thought the coconut was the best of the bunch, but considering the others, that's not exactly high praise! It tasted quite nice, but it's obviously not to everybody's tastes. 🙂

        • sue J 28th February 2013 at 5:53 pm

          oh the coconut is so yummy but I have now tasted yummy number 2 apricot so mmmmmmm just have trouble getting them always sold out locally have to bulk buy so I always have at least one , just so addicted but coconut no 1 in my book ;

  • Hayley 9th November 2010 at 9:34 pm

    The mango and passion fruit ones are fabulous!

    • kathleen 9th July 2012 at 11:02 pm

      i'm eating the coconut now as we speak, and it is delicious! x

  • connie 1st December 2010 at 2:36 pm

    have u tried the mango and passion fruit. absolutely delicious. heaven in a pot

  • CoCoNUT 24th May 2011 at 7:04 am

    Love Love Love the CoCoCoCo NUT !!!! If ONLY it as LOW FAT toooo !!!!

  • vikkikate 20th July 2011 at 1:30 pm

    the lemon one is so good i just ate two, lemon all the way!

  • CoCoNUT 16th October 2011 at 8:00 am

    just bought another 4 pck yesterday, i eat half a pot in morning over my cereal, then eat the other half when i get in from work, makes them last a little longer & half a pot over cereal is just a perfect amount.

    • Fatso 16th October 2011 at 9:18 am

      Mmm, that sounds like a lovely way to eat it! 🙂

  • crackers 28th October 2011 at 6:32 pm

    NNNOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!
    all the coconut is gone, only citrus left

  • weight loss 31st October 2011 at 8:52 am

    weight loss…

    […]FATGIRLslim » Blog Archive » Product Review: Yoplait's Perle de Lait Classic "dairy dessert"[…]…

    • Suzie 10th December 2011 at 3:51 pm

      I must be the only one who actually prefers the natural one then! The toffee is good but very indulgent….but typically I can't find the natural one anywhere now!! 🙁

      • Sofia 10th January 2012 at 11:10 am

        Yeah the natural one is the best by far and less fattening which is probably why most people don't really like it. I don't really understand why people say that it doesn't have enough taste because it is probably the best natural yogurt out there, or at least the best in the UK cause I have to say I have tried different brands of natural yogurt in this country and they taste pretty bad.

  • katy 7th March 2013 at 11:12 pm

    It’s called dairy dessert because if you look at the ingredients it contains no yogurt. It’s basically cream, milk, and favouring.

    • Fatso 7th March 2013 at 11:52 pm

      That would make perfect sense! Never thought of that. 🙂

  • Barbara 15th June 2013 at 2:44 pm

    I am addicted to Perle De Lait Coconut Yogurt but would like to know WHY is there such a fluctuation in the prices . the latest price for me was £2.35 now that's what I call 'Over the top'!!
    The prices I have come across are £1 £1.50 £1.60 £1.78 £1.97 £2.00 and £2.35 we are talking about the same yogurt .
    What is your answer to this please surely a price in the middle for any should be more fairer??

    • Fatso 15th June 2013 at 2:54 pm

      I wish I knew, Barbara! The prices in supermarkets drive me NUTS sometimes. I feel the same way about Philadelphia. Sometimes I can go in and it's £1 for the big tub, and the next week it's £2.75! I've pretty much given up buying yoghurts from supermarkets, and just buy the Greek Yoghurt from ALDI or LIDL and have it with fruits or honey!

      But yeah, I totally agree with you. £2.35 for four wee "dairy desserts" is totally over the top!

  • Katherine 21st September 2013 at 8:10 pm

    I was wondering if anyone could please list the ingredients for the Classic Perle de Lait? We easily became attached to this flavor while in Europe and cannot find an equivalent in the US, sadly. Thanks in advance!

    • Fatso 21st September 2013 at 10:34 pm

      Hi, Katherine! I can't do it right now, as even Google isn't coming up with anything, but when I'm going for my groceries – possibly tomorrow? – I'll make a note to check them out for you, and make another comment/update the post with said ingredients. Hope you find something similar!

  • FATGIRLslim | Yoplait Perle De Lait Lemon Dairy Dessert Review 2nd February 2015 at 8:57 pm

    […] y’all might remember that I tried the Perle de Lait “Classic” dairy dessert not too long ago and described it as “yogurt with all the flavour […]